Winning big with Birmingham Hippodrome!

1

Last year Michelle Parker won our big Facebook competition of 2012, grabbing a pair of tickets to a production at Birmingham Hippodrome every month for a duration of 12 months.   Before using her last tickets Michelle recently took the time to tell us about winning such a big prize and her 12 months experiencing what Birmingham Hippodrome has to offer…

Birmingham Hippodrome

Birmingham Hippodrome

I wouldn’t say I am obsessed with entering competitions, but there are a few that just pop out and demand a sneaky look. I am a big fan of the Birmingham Hippodrome, visiting regularly with friends and family to see musicals, dance and ballet, BRB and Matthew Bourne‘s dance extravaganzas among my favourites. Needless to say I could not resist entering the chance to win a years supply of Hippodrome theatre tickets. 

Ben Wooldridge (press & PR) got in touch on the 2nd February, 2 days before my birthday, to inform me that I had won the competition. I was excited beyond belief and literally spent the whole afternoon ‘whooping’ and marvelling in my good fortune, lucky lucky me!  The first show and prize collection was due the following Tuesday, 8th February, sadly I was unable to attend as I was 37+ weeks pregnant and very uncomfortable, so I sent my daughter and a family friend to see the show and pick up the prize bundle on my behalf.  

Tracie Bennett in End of the Rainbow

Tracie Bennett in End of the Rainbow

The arrival of baby Martha in early March mean’t me missing a few more shows. My biggest disappointment was not being able to see WNO’s Turandot, I have always desperately wanted to see an opera, it is still on my list of things to do! But thankfully friends and family members benefited from attending in my absence. My daughter took one of her friends to see Thriller as a birthday treat. I was glad the tickets went to ‘good homes’.

One of the biggest surprises and a show that I probably would not have booked to see was End of the Rainbow starring Tracie Bennett as Judy Garland. Tracie was absolutely brilliant, the whole show was one great big emotional roller coaster, I would definitely go again and again!  Another  highlight for me was BRB’s Nutcracker, a firm favourite and something of a family tradition now. I made the most of this Christmas treat by using the meal for two, also part of the prize, my husband and I had a wonderful meal and were privileged to see another fabulous performance.  I’m now looking forward to my first ever panto next week.

 A big thank you to Birmingham Hippodrome for the most wonderful prize!

There is still time to win with our big competition of 2013 on facebook with the GOLDEN TICKET – giving you the opportunity to win a pair of tickets to win tickets to 24 productions worth over £1,900! CLICK HERE to find out how, but hurry – the competition closes at 12.30pm on Fri 27 Jan.

One comment on “Winning big with Birmingham Hippodrome!

  1. Lynda Robinson says:

    Well done Michelle. I too am a great fan of the Hippo, spending many enjoyable hours seeing mainly musicals. Joseph being my favourite , one year it was at the Hippodrome for 2 weeks and I saw it 8 times!!!!
    I would love to win this prize as my husband says the Hippdrome is my 2nd home.

    My forthcoming shows are Nutcracker and Oliver, with many more yet to come.

Leave a Reply

