Behind the Scenes: Work Experience at Birmingham Hippodrome…

Chris Green is one of Birmingham Hippodrome’s ‘First Night Bloggers’, reporting back on shows and events as part of our £5 ticket scheme for 16-21 year olds. Chris attends the Stourport Sixth Form Centre in Worcestershire where he studies Performing Arts, Music and Film Studies. This week, Chris joins us for a five day work experience placement and will be blogging each day about his experiences…

Chris outside the Theatre on his first day...

Chris outside the Theatre on his first day…

My first day of my work experience at Birmingham Hippodrome started at 10 o’clock; anticipating an exciting week ahead, I was very excited and nervous as I approached the Stage Door on Thorp Street. I was greeted by the Stage Door staff and handed my lanyard and passes for my time at the theatre,  then introduced to Sarah- Administrator for the Hippodrome and my guide for the week.

I was then taken to level six- Administration Level. Packed with desks and computers, printers and members of staff- of course I knew from this moment onwards I was in an office. Sarah then gave me a short tour of the theatre- seeing backstage areas, DanceXchange studios, the Birmingham Royal Ballet therapy/gym room (Jerwood Centre) and the general foyer of the theatre.

One of the most exciting moments of the morning was receiving my timetable for the week-  exploring Press work, Conference and Events, Box office and Technical to name a few. This wide variety of experiences will really give me an insight to what it is like to work in a theatre and I look forward to everything that is on my timetable.

After doing some admin work and my lunch break I find myself here typing my blog, I will keep it updated every day this week to share my experiences and include some pictures of life behind the scenes…

You can follow Chris’s time here at Birmingham Hippodrome by keeping up to date with his blog HERE.

All Work Experience placements are now full for the remainder of 2012 and July 2013. Please CLICK HERE  for more information on joining us for a placement next year.

CLICK HERE to find out more about our FIRST NIGHT scheme.

Leave a Reply

