Theatre memories from the age of 6…

Back in October we met Patricia Edwards who has been attending the theatre since the age of 15.    Pat and her daughter Christine recently clubbed together to become Supporting Cast Patron’s.   In this second blog Christine talks about her and her family’s theatre experiences…

My earliest memory of going to the theatre was to see Mike & Bernie Winters in panto at Birmingham Hippodrome back when I would have been about 6 or 7 years old and I haven’t stopped coming since!

Christine with Rhydian outside Stage Door

Christine with Rhydian outside Stage Door

In 1971/72, my secondary school organised a trip to  Birmingham Hippodrome to see ‘Godspell’,  I was so excited.  I really wanted to see my idol David Essex.    Well, disappointed wasn’t the word… David was still in the West End production  so we saw Jess Conrad but I still I fell in love with the show.  I’ve now seen the ‘Gospell’  at least once every decade plus both my daughter & I have been in separate productions of ‘Godspell’ ourselves.

As my children were growing up I started to take them to the theatre, my daughter’s first show was ‘Sesame Street’, again at the Hippodrome, Cookie Monster even danced with her!  Then, when my son was old enough to go, we thought that panto would be a good introduction this led to my friends bringing their

Patricia and Christine with Connie Fisher

Patricia and Christine with Connie Fisher

families as well.   For about 5-6 years I began to make party bookings for everyone to come along.   Before leaving the house my son always asked if we had a pen ready to go to the stage door to get autographs after

the show,  I also took lots of photographs!  After seeing ‘42nd Street’ one of the cast members spoke to my daughter and asked if she had enjoyed it, my daughter told her one day she would be doing it…the week of her 16th birthday she was on stage at the Grand Wolverhampton in ‘42nd Street’.

I first started in amateur theatre in 1996 with a company who at the time where called ‘Tipton Amateur Repertory Theatre Society’,  fondly know as T.A.R.T.S, but in recent years have had to change their name and are now Tipton Arts!  Two major shows I did with T.A.R.T.S  were Sound of Music and The King & I plus plenty of panto & variety shows. I am now an active member of Willenhall Musical Theatre Company &

Christine's seat plaque in the auditorium

Christine’s seat plaque in the auditorium

Rainbow Pantomimes. On stage with Rainbow I have been involved with Mother Goose, Snow White and presently rehearsals are well underway for Dick Whittington, their 21st production in January 2013. On stage with Willenhall I have also been in Oklahoma, Me & My Girl, Billie, Guys & Dolls, Little Shop Of Horrors, South Pacific, Godspell and Wizard Of Oz to name but a few.

During the last refurbishment of the Hippodrome, I purchased a seat & had a plaque engraved with the words ‘To all the past, present & future performers’, you can see the seat on row Q in the stalls.

What do I love about theatre?  There’s an electrifying buzz of excitement that takes you into a different world. Then after the show, we make our way to the stage door to meet the stars and finish the evening off.   We have met a lot of stars & they all say that they love playing for Midland audiences here at Birmingham Hippodrome!

To find out how you can help support Birmingham Hippodrome by naming a seat and more CLICK HERE.

Leave a Reply

