A week with Birmingham Hippodrome…

Today’s blog comes from last week’s work experience student Jack Carroll, a Year 10 student at King’s Norton Boys’ School, who tells us more about his time with us…

Work experience at Birmingham Hippodrome is something that I have wanted to do for ages. To work at Birmingham’s biggest theatre, is something that I know will help me in later life when applying for jobs in theatres, whether it be front of house or backstage. It is a theatre that I know well, and have visited on many occasions, to watch shows, and to participate in events and activities.

Backstage at Birmingham Hippodrome

Backstage at Birmingham Hippodrome

I go to a stage school every Saturday based at the Hippodrome, and so know that it is a friendly, welcoming environment, that I would be more than happy to work in. On top of that, I have been on backstage tours, seen many shows, and even performed here, so I am familiar with the theatre, and I know that it lives up to its reputation.

My week at the Hippodrome has been very exciting, but at times very scary. I have helped out in departments such as: Administration, Finance, Box Office, Marketing, Front of House, and Development. All the departments have been pleasant to work in, and great to be a part of.

The things I have enjoyed most have been the jobs involving customer service, such as the Box Office, and Front of House. I liked meeting members of the public, and talking to them about the shows that they enjoy, and why they like coming to the Hippodrome.

I have learned many things about the way a theatre works such as: how to take calls and bookings, how to direct people to their seats, and almost every role in the company, and what they do.

I will take everything that I have learned away with me, and I will be able to use it when applying for jobs in theatres, and when visiting the theatre.

It was a thoroughly enjoyable experience that I would happily take part in again, thank you Birmingham Hippodrome for giving me this opportunity.

There are a very limited number of places left for Work Experience candidates in 2014 and bookings are now being taken for 2015 – for more information click here.

Leave a Reply

