Toby the rat star of The National Theatre’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

2

Joshua and meOur guest blogger this week is Toby the rat currently starring in The National Theatre’s award-winning The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time.  The production receives its Birmingham Hippodrome premiere next week.

I love performing in The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time and I’m particularly excited about coming to Birmingham Hippodrome. I look forward to stepping onto the same stage as other famous rodents like ‘The Rat Pack’ and ‘King Rat’ in Dick Whittington.

I’m with a company of 15 actors including my best friend Joshua Jenkins, who plays Christopher Boone and 15 members of the technical crew. We love being on the road and whenever we get to a new city we try and take in the sights. I’m particularly looking forward to seeing the famous Bull statue in Birmingham’s Bull Ring.

I always listen to music before I go on stage – I’m partial to Michael Jackson’s ‘Ben’ and ‘Rat in mi kitchen’ by Birmingham’s own UB40. I’m also very fond of the Boomtown Rats and ‘Rat Race’ by The Specials.

I share a dressing room with the lovely and very talented wardrobe team. They can whip up all sorts of brilliant outfits for me. My favourite outfit at the moment is a tuxedo which really brings out my beautiful white fur and pink eyes. I think I’ll be wearing it to the first night party at Birmingham Hippodrome.

My favourite day of the week is Saturday because I get to be on stage twice as we have a matinee and evening performance. In between shows I will pop outside the theatre, maybe go into China Town across the road from the Hippodrome or get something tasty from Mr Egg and chill out.

I’m no stranger to Birmingham I was here shooting an episode of Doctors.   It was only a small part so I finished early and had the whole weekend to myself.    I went  to Cadbury World and later I went to watch Birmingham Royal Ballet’s The Nutcracker to see my friend who was dancing the role of the Rat King. The following day I spent playing on my wheel. I usually eat around 10% of my body-weight so it’s essential for me to keep fit.

I love to swim too and Birmingham has more miles of canal than Venice – so I’m really looking forward to splashing around the canals in Brindley Place. Some of my friends live in a canal boat and I’ll spend some time relaxing with them as well.

My ambition is to star on Broadway where The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time is currently playing to packed houses. I hear the show is up for six Tony awards but I don’t think I’ll be able to make it to the glitzy awards ceremony on  7 June, I’ll be on my way from Birmingham to Leicester.  Oh well.   See you at Birmingham Hippodrome next week! (runs 26 may-6 June).  #BHCurious

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 comments on “Toby the rat star of The National Theatre’s The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time

  1. Dorothy Hewitt says:

    Myself and my friend came to see The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Wednesday afternoon and were absolutely bowled over by this spectacular production from the excellent set and effects to the stupendous acting quality of the performers. Thank you very much for an exquisite afternoon out

Leave a Reply

