Q & A with Oklahoma! star Ashley Day

We recently caught up with Oklahoma! star Ashley Day and asked him a few questions. Have a peep at all the things you ever wanted to know about The Book of Mormon and High School Musical actor. From nights at the Crazy Horse in Paris to his car called Frank! 

Oklahoma! star Ashley Day

Oklahoma! star Ashley Day

It’s Friday afternoon, what are you doing?

Friday afternoon I’m most probably in the gym with the boys from the show pumping some iron.

Who normally has the pleasure of your company at the weekends? 

My weekends at the moment are all about one person, my beautiful niece Mia who was born in May. I’ll drive back to London and chill with my sister and brother-in-law whilst my mum is sat in the corner crocheting something incredible!

How do you prepare for a big night out?

By listening to the band Disclosure and a having a shot of sambuca!

How do you spend your time in the tour bus when you’re on the road?

Tour bus? I wish! I passed my driving test the day before I started rehearsals for Oklahoma! My car is called Frank. He’s a silver fiesta and we are very happy together!

You’ve just arrived at the bar, what’s your first drink?

A nice big glass of red.

What is the best party haunt that you’ve ever visited?

IBIZA!

It’s a sunny Saturday, what are you up to – and don’t tell us you’re working?

If I wasn’t working I’d drive to Greenwich Park which is very close to my house. I’d have a nice walk through the park and look out over London from the Royal Observatory, then go down to the town and enjoy some nice grub.

What’s your most memorable weekend ever and why?

A crazy weekend recently with my best friend Pippa in Paris! It was carnage! It involved going to Crazy Horse…damn that was an impressive show! Those girls are something else!

What’s your recipe for the perfect night in?

Friends, good food and a good film.

Favourite film of all time and why?

An American in Paris. I grew up watching all the old MGM films and this one continues to be played lot on my TV.  La Vie en Rose another musical eek…Marion Cotillard gave the best performance in any film I’ve ever seen. Oh and Toy Story… just because.

 What album are you listening to at the moment?

Joe Stilgoe – New Songs For Old Souls and Songs on Film live.

What book are you reading and can you tell us what it’s about?

David & Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell.

Where and how do you like to relax?

I used to be good at relaxing, but being on tour there’s always something that’s needs to be done. A cuddle with little Mia will make me sit down!

Have you got a favourite hobby or unusual pursuit?

My hobbies growing up were singing, dancing and acting, but now I get paid to do it – result! I’d like to learn to play the piano and the spoons though.

What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve ever done – or seen – on stage?

Outrageous ? I do what I’m directed to do, I’m a good boy!

What’s on your rider?

A rider? I’m not Maria Carey!

You have the whole weekend off and a wad of cash. Which country or city would you head to?

I’d fly my family and closest friends to a villa in Ibiza, have a chef cook for us, a driver to drive us and a yacht to sail us around the island!

See Ashley play Curly in Oklahoma here at Birmingham Hippodrome from Tuesday 30 June to Saturday 4 July. Tickets are priced from £18 to £40 – to book please visit our website or call our Box Office on 0844 338 5000.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

