Brandon Lawrence gives us an insight into life as a dancer for Birmingham Royal Ballet

Birmingham Royal Ballet First Artist, Brandon Lawrence gives an insight into being a dancer with a world renowned ballet company and their upcoming season at Birmingham Hippodrome…

To be honest, I started dancing out of nowhere, so I was taken to a local dance school with no intention or expectation that I could have a career in it. Whilst there I did a few summer schools, then that escalated to attending the Royal Ballet School where David Bintley saw me at various performances which led to him offering me a contract here at Birmingham Royal Ballet. At each stage I fell more and more in love with ballet, the door just kept opening.

My normal day starts off with food but after that it’s pretty much class, where we warm up and improve our technique, then rehearsals for our upcoming performances up until the end of the day. No day is ever the same though, that’s what makes being a part of the dance world so unique.

People often ask how we remember all the steps in a performance; I can’t speak for all dancers but I find knowing the music well helps me to remember, but also the relation in space between the other dancers… and plenty of practice, of course.

When talking of my favourite ballets, I have ones I love to watch and ones I love dancing.  There’s a real mixture but Jewels, Elite Syncopations, Symphonic Variations, Still life at the Penguin Cafe, Troy Game and Carmina burana are some of my top picks, to name just a few… I’m a big fan of the one act pieces.

In David Bintley’s new ballet, The King Dances, my role goes by the name of Grace and I’m one of the four virtues. It’s always an exciting event when a new ballet is created and especially by our Director, David. Working with him is a treat so who couldn’t be excited?!

David Bintley celebrates 20 years with the company this year. The first ballet he choreographed for BRB was Carmina burana and his most recent work is The King Dances which receives its world premiere at Birmingham Hippodrome from Wednesday 17 to Saturday 20 June. For more information or tickets please visit our website.

 

Leave a Reply

