Our new Creative Programmes Intern Erin says hello!

Hello, I’m Erin, the new Creative Programmes Intern working with the Hippodrome Creative Team until May!  This blog is to let you know a little about me and what I’ve been up to at the Hippodrome so far…

Our Creative Programmes Intern, Erin (2)

I graduated from Hull University in July after a wonderful three years studying Drama & Theatre Practice.  The internship popped into my inbox one day and sounded perfect, also an achievable commute from home in Leicestershire…I didn’t for one minute think I’d be writing this having got the position, I’m thrilled to be here!

As they do in the world of theatre, the weeks are flying by ridiculously fast.  It’s already my 4th week and I feel well and truly settled, a member of the Hippodrome family – they’re all such a lovely bunch 🙂

So what have I been doing?  Day 1 was a whirlwind of names and faces and consisted largely of me pinching myself in disbelief that I was actually here working at a huge receiving theatre!  Having completed induction videos, it was time to get stuck into the ground work.  On Thursdays, we’re over at Shireland Collegiate Academy in Smethwick, directing their pantomime Jack & The Beanstalk in preparation  for their performance on 17th December.

Thursday 19th November saw the launch of 2,241 Reasons to Remember, a deeply moving evening with families and survivors laying the bricks they’d made in memory of their lost loved ones.  I was back on Saturday teaching brick making and talking to passers by at the installation (the swanky new jackets were greatly appreciated on the cold, bright November morning!).  Had some great responses and discussions with the passers by who were touched by the installation.

I look forward to many more weeks of fun and theatre making! I’ll update you soon on what exciting things I get up to over the next few weeks!

Erin

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

